Flights of Fantasy

Friday, March 25, 2005

Sea of Silver Light – Tad Williams

Sea of Silver Light - Tad WilliamsCategory: Fantasy

This is the last book in a series of four, preceded by City of Golden Shadow, River of Blue Fire and Mountain of Black Glass.

John Dread has somehow managed to take over the Grail network by torturing ‘the other’, and has started to rampage through the simworlds, corrupting and destroying them for his own amusement, while searching for Renie, Martine and their friends.

Orlando is dead, killed by The Other on the mountain. Renie, !Xabbu and Sam find themselves now wearing sim bodies that match their own physical appearance, and in the company of Felix Jongleur the head of the Grail Brotherhood. The others are gone, scattered through the network.

The network itself then starts to break down. They find themselves separated and in a land based on a mish-mash of children’s tales, nursery rhymes and fairy tales, and The Ending is coming.

Quite an exciting and enthralling conclusion to the Otherland series. All the questions are answered eventually, although it does make for frustrating reading at times, as getting the answers is a bit like pulling teeth.

There are more than a few revelations but it does all make a very strange kind of sense in the end.

Given the length and complexity of these novels, I don’t know if I’ll ever read them again, but they are worth the effort of reading them once.

Rating 7/10

The Otherland Series:
1. City of Golden Shadow
2. River of Blue Fire
3. Mountain of Black Glass
4. Sea of Silver Light

City of Golden Shadow - Tad WilliamsRiver of Blue Fire - Tad WilliamsMountain of Black Glass - Tad Williams


Post a Comment

<< Home